Guide to Bogota, Colombia

The history of Bogota


Santa Fé de Bogotá was founded in 1538. Its name was shortened to Bogotá after the independence from Spain in 1824, but it was later reinstated as Santafé de Bogotá.

The city was quite provincial until the mid-1900s, the bureaucratic home of government and intellectual activities. The main industries were breweries, woolen textiles and candle making. The residents - or Bogotanos - were considered by the rest of the country to be taciturn, cold and aloof. The Bogotanos considered themselves intellectually superior to their compatriots.

The economy of Bogota


In addition to being the capital, Bogota is the largest economic center in Colombia. Most Colombian companies are headquartered in Bogota, as this is where most foreign companies do business. It is also the center of Colombia's main stock market. The main offices of most coffee producing and exporting companies and flower growers are located here. The emerald trade is a very important activity in Bogotá. Millions of dollars worth of rough and cut emeralds produced in the country are bought and sold every day in the downtown area.

The city


Bogota is divided into zones, each with its own characteristics:

Zona 1 Norte: This is the most modern and upscale area. The highest income neighborhoods, major shopping centers and the best restaurants, malls and nightlife are located in the Zona Rosa.
Zona 2 Noroccidente: The city extends in this direction.
Zona 3 Occidente: This western sector contains industrial areas, parks, the national university and the El Dorado airport.
Zona 4 Sur: Industrial areas and large working-class barrios are located in the south.
Zona 5 Centro: The central sector is the main and most important commercial, cultural, governmental and financial area of the city.
Zona 6: This zone covers the surrounding areas.
Zona 7: This zone includes the other cities.

The mountains


Most places of interest to visitors are located in the central and northern areas of Bogota. The city has expanded from the colonial center where most of the large churches are located. The mountains form a backdrop to the east of the city.

The most famous peak is Cerro de Montserrat, at 3,030 meters or 10,000 feet. It is a favorite place for Bogotenes who go there for the spectacular view, the park, the bullring, the restaurants and a famous religious site. The church, with its statue of the fallen Christ Señor Caido, is reputed to be a place of miracles. The top of the peak can be reached by climbing hundreds of stairs - which is not recommended. You can also go up by cable car, which runs from 9:00 am to 11:00 pm every day, or by funicular, which only runs on Sundays between 5:30 am and 6:00 pm.

The churches


Most of the historical sites are located in the neighborhood of La Candelaria, the oldest in the city. The Municipal Palace of the Capitol and several churches are worth a visit:

San Francisco: Built in 1567, this church is elaborately decorated with a huge wooden altar and columns covered with gold leaf.
Santa Clara: Built at the beginning of the 17th century, this single nave church has beautiful frescoes that have been completely restored. It is now a museum. Its once cloistered convent of nuns is now dismantled, but the church has an exceptional screen that once served to hide the nuns' choir.
San Ignacio: Inspired by the church of San Jesús de Roma, this lavishly decorated church has very high naves, baroque altars and sculptures by Pedro de Laboria.
San Agustín: Built in 1637, it is one of the oldest churches in Bogota and it has been restored. Among its most outstanding features are the baroque altars, the choir and the beautiful proportions.
The churches of La Tercera, La Veracruz, La Catedral, La Capilla del Sagrario, La Candelaria la Concepción, Santa Bárbara and San Diego are all worth a visit if time permits.

The museums


The city has a number of great museums. Most can be visited in an hour or two, but be sure to allow time for the Museo del Oro, which houses more than 30,000 pieces of pre-Columbian goldwork. The museum is like a fort protecting the treasures inside, including the tiny Muisca boat representing the ritual of throwing gold into Lake Guatavita to appease the gods. The museum also displays crosses set with emeralds and diamonds from the colonial period.

Other interesting museums are

Museo Colonial: Located in the old Jesuit monastery built around 1640, this museum presents the life and times of the viceroyalty.
Museo de Arte Religioso: Exhibits include a collection of popular religious art from the colonial era.
Museo de Arte Moderno: This museum houses the works of contemporary artists.
Quinta de Bolívar: Located at the foot of Cerro Montserrate, the magnificent country house of Simon Bolívar exhibits the furniture, documents and personal belongings of the Liberator and his mistress Manuela Sáenz. Don't miss a walk through the lawns and gardens.
Other notable museums include the Museo Arqueológico Museo de Artes y Tradiciones Populares Museo del Siglo XIX Museo de Numismática and the Museo de los Niños.

Archaeological and historical treasures


You may be interested in the model of the Ciudad Perdida, the lost city of Taironas, which was discovered near Santa Marta in 1975. This discovery of a city larger than Machu Picchu is one of the most important archaeological finds in South America. The highlight of any visit to the Gold Museum is the vault, where small groups of visitors can enter a dark room and be surprised when the lights reveal the 12,000 pieces it contains.

The Museo Nacional de Colombia presents a wider range of exhibits of archaeological, ethnic and historical significance. This museum is housed in a prison designed by the American Thomas Reed. The cells are visible from a single vantage point.

The cathedral of Zipaquira or Salt Cathedral is not in the city proper but it is well worth the two hour drive north. The cathedral is built in a salt mine that was exploited long before the arrival of the Spaniards. A huge cavern was created in the 1920s, so large that the Banco de la Republica built a 23-meter high cathedral there that could seat 10,000 people. Colombians will tell you that there is still enough salt in the mine to supply the world for 100 years.

There is enough to see in Bogota to keep you busy for several days. When you've had enough of museums and churches, the city offers an active nightlife with restaurants, theaters and more. Plan to visit the elegant Teatro Colón during a performance - it's the only time the theater is open.

Getting around


Getting around the city is simplified by the way the streets are named. Most of the old streets are called carreras and run north/south. Calles run east-west and are numbered. Newer streets may be avenidas circulares or transversales.

Bus transportation is excellent in Bogota. Large buses, smaller buses called busetas, and the microbus or colectivo all run on the city streets. The modern articulated buses of the Transmilenio run on some of the main streets, and the city is working to add more routes.

Bicycles abound in the city. The ciclorrutas is an extensive bicycle path that serves all points of the compass.

Take precautions


Although the level of violence is down in Bogotá and other major Colombian cities, there is still a risk of terrorist acts outside the city limits by various factions rebelling against the government, the reduction of the drug trade, and U.S. assistance in eradicating the coca fields. Fielding's Guide to Dangerous Places states:

"Colombia is currently the most dangerous place in the Western Hemisphere and perhaps the world, because it is not considered a war zone ..... If you travel to Colombia, you could be targeted by robbers, kidnappers, and murderers... In the department of Antioquia, civilians and military personnel are routinely stopped at roadblocks, dragged from their cars, and summarily executed. Tourists are drugged in bars and discos, robbed and murdered. Expatriates, missionaries and other foreigners are favorite targets of terrorist groups who kidnap them for outrageous ransoms that run into millions of dollars."
If you go to Santafé de Bogotá or anywhere in Colombia, be very careful. In addition to the precautions you would take in any major city, please take the following steps:

Let your consulate know that you are there and what your travel plans are.
Keep your passport with you at all times. You may be asked for it at any time. If you have any doubts about who is asking to see your documents, call any uniformed police officer for assistance.
Carry only the money you need and keep it close to your skin.
Do not wear valuable jewelry or watches.
Do not walk alone at night or in poor neighborhoods. Avoid suspicious areas. Women should not ride alone in cabs.
Do not accept candy, cigarettes, drinks or food from strangers. They may be drugged with burundanga, which robs you of your will and memory and makes you pass out. An overdose can be fatal.
Keep up with local news and events. Stay away from hot spots.
Do not walk to Cerro Montserrate.
Be aware, safe and secure to enjoy your trip!

Find all the tourist information on the city and the districts of Bogota: //www.guidebogota.com/

en_USEnglish

Guide de Bogota, Colombie

L’histoire de Bogota


Santa Fé de Bogotá a été fondée en 1538. Son nom a été raccourci en Bogotá après l’indépendance de l’Espagne en 1824, mais il a ensuite été rétabli sous le nom de Santafé de Bogotá.

La ville était assez provinciale jusqu’au milieu des années 1900, le foyer bureaucratique du gouvernement et des activités intellectuelles. Les principales industries étaient les brasseries, les textiles en laine et la fabrication de bougies. Les résidents – ou Bogotanos – étaient considérés par le reste du pays comme taciturnes, froids et distants. Les Bogotanos se considéraient comme intellectuellement supérieurs à leurs compatriotes.

L’économie de Bogota


En plus d’être la capitale, Bogota est le plus grand centre économique de la Colombie. La plupart des entreprises colombiennes ont leur siège social à Bogota, car c’est là que se trouvent la plupart des entreprises étrangères qui y font des affaires. C’est également le centre du principal marché boursier de Colombie. Les bureaux principaux de la plupart des entreprises productrices et exportatrices de café et des producteurs de fleurs sont situés ici. Le commerce des émeraudes est une activité très importante à Bogotá. Des millions de dollars d’émeraudes brutes et taillées produites dans le pays sont achetés et vendus chaque jour dans le centre-ville.

La ville


Bogota est divisée en zones, chacune ayant ses propres caractéristiques :

Zona 1 Norte : C’est la zone la plus moderne et la plus haut de gamme. Les quartiers aux revenus les plus élevés, les centres commerciaux importants et les meilleurs restaurants, centres commerciaux et vie nocturne sont situés dans la zona rosa.
Zona 2 Noroccidente : La ville s’étend dans cette direction.
Zona 3 Occidente : Ce secteur ouest contient des zones industrielles, des parcs, l’université nationale et l’aéroport El Dorado.
Zona 4 Sur : Les zones industrielles et les grands barrios ouvriers sont situés dans le sud.
Zona 5 Centro : Le secteur central est la principale et plus importante zone commerciale, culturelle, gouvernementale et financière de la ville.
Zona 6 : cette zone couvre les zones environnantes.
Zona 7 : Cette zone comprend les autres villes.

Les montagnes


La plupart des lieux d’intérêt pour les visiteurs sont situés dans les zones centrale et nord de Bogota. La ville s’est étendue à partir du centre colonial où se trouvent la plupart des grandes églises. Les montagnes forment une toile de fond à l’est de la ville.

Le sommet le plus célèbre est le Cerro de Montserrat, à 3 030 mètres ou 10 000 pieds. C’est un lieu de prédilection pour les Bogoténiens qui y vont pour la vue spectaculaire, le parc, les arènes, les restaurants et un site religieux célèbre. L’église, avec sa statue du Christ déchu Señor Caído, est réputée être un lieu de miracles. Le sommet du pic est accessible en grimpant des centaines d’escaliers – ce qui n’est pas recommandé. Vous pouvez également monter par le téléphérique qui fonctionne de 9 h à 23 h tous les jours, ou par le funiculaire qui ne fonctionne que le dimanche entre 5 h 30 et 18 h.

Les églises


La plupart des sites historiques sont situés dans le quartier de La Candelaria, le plus ancien de la ville. Le palais municipal du Capitole et plusieurs églises méritent une visite :

San Francisco : Construite en 1567, cette église est décorée de manière élaborée avec un immense autel en bois et des colonnes recouvertes de feuilles d’or.
Santa Clara : Construite au début du XVIIe siècle, cette église à une seule nef possède de magnifiques fresques qui ont été entièrement restaurées. C’est maintenant un musée. Son couvent de nonnes, autrefois cloîtré, est aujourd’hui démantelé, mais l’église possède un écran exceptionnel qui servait autrefois à cacher le chœur des nonnes.
San Ignacio : Inspirée de l’église de San Jesús de Roma, cette église somptueusement décorée possède des nefs très hautes, des autels baroques et des sculptures de Pedro de Laboria.
San Agustín : Construite en 1637, c’est l’une des plus anciennes églises de Bogota et elle a été restaurée. Parmi ses caractéristiques les plus remarquables, citons les autels baroques, le chœur et les belles proportions.
Les églises La Tercera, la Veracruz, la Catedral, la Capilla del Sagrario, la Candelaria la Concepción, Santa Bárbara et San Diego méritent toutes une visite si le temps le permet.

Les musées


La ville possède un certain nombre de grands musées. La plupart peuvent être visités en une heure ou deux, mais n’oubliez pas de prévoir du temps pour le Museo del Oro, qui abrite plus de 30 000 objets d’orfèvrerie précolombienne. Le musée est comme un fort protégeant les trésors qui s’y trouvent, notamment le minuscule bateau Muisca représentant le rituel consistant à jeter de l’or dans le lac Guatavita pour apaiser les dieux. Le musée présente également des croix serties d’émeraudes et de diamants datant de la période coloniale.

Les autres musées intéressants sont les suivants

Le Museo Colonial : Installé dans l’ancien monastère jésuite construit vers 1640, ce musée présente la vie et l’époque de la vice-royauté.
Museo de Arte Religioso : Les expositions comprennent une collection d’art religieux populaire à l’époque coloniale.
Museo de Arte Moderno : Ce musée abrite les œuvres d’artistes contemporains.
Quinta de Bolívar : Située au pied du Cerro Montserrate, la magnifique maison de campagne de Simon Bolívar expose les meubles, les documents et les objets à usage personnel du Libérateur et de sa maîtresse Manuela Sáenz. Ne manquez pas de vous promener sur les pelouses et dans les jardins.
Parmi les autres musées remarquables, citons le Museo Arqueológico Museo de Artes y Tradiciones Populares Museo del Siglo XIX Museo de Numismática et le Museo de los Niños.

Trésors archéologiques et historiques


Vous serez peut-être intéressé par le modèle de la Ciudad Perdida, la ville perdue de Taironas, qui a été découvert près de Santa Marta en 1975. Cette découverte d’une ville plus grande que Machu Picchu est l’une des plus importantes découvertes archéologiques d’Amérique du Sud. Le clou de toute visite au musée de l’or est la salle forte, où de petits groupes de visiteurs peuvent entrer dans une pièce sombre et être surpris lorsque les lumières révèlent les 12 000 pièces qu’elle contient.

Le Museo Nacional de Colombia présente un éventail plus large d’expositions d’importance archéologique, ethnique et historique. Ce musée est installé dans une prison conçue par l’Américain Thomas Reed. Les cellules sont visibles depuis un seul point d’observation.

La cathédrale de Zipaquira ou cathédrale de sel ne se trouve pas dans la ville proprement dite mais elle vaut bien les deux heures de route vers le nord. La cathédrale est construite dans une mine de sel qui était exploitée bien avant l’arrivée des Espagnols. Une énorme caverne a été créée dans les années 1920, si grande que le Banco de la Republica y a construit une cathédrale de 23 mètres de haut pouvant accueillir 10 000 personnes. Les Colombiens vous diront qu’il y a encore assez de sel dans la mine pour approvisionner le monde entier pendant 100 ans.

Il y a suffisamment de choses à voir à Bogota pour vous occuper pendant plusieurs jours. Lorsque vous en aurez assez des musées et des églises, la ville offre une vie nocturne active avec des restaurants, des théâtres et bien plus encore. Prévoyez de visiter l’élégant Teatro Colón pendant une représentation – c’est le seul moment où le théâtre est ouvert.

Se déplacer


Se déplacer dans la ville est simplifié par la façon dont les rues sont nommées. La plupart des vieilles rues s’appellent carreras et sont orientées nord/sud. Les calles vont d’est en ouest et sont numérotées. Les rues plus récentes peuvent être des avenidas circulares ou transversales.

Le transport par bus est excellent à Bogota. Les grands bus, les bus plus petits appelés busetas, et le microbus ou le colectivo circulent tous dans les rues de la ville. Les bus articulés modernes du Transmilenio circulent dans certaines rues principales, et la ville s’efforce d’ajouter des lignes.

Les bicyclettes abondent dans la ville. La ciclorrutas est une vaste piste cyclable qui dessert tous les points cardinaux.

Prenez des précautions


Bien que le niveau de violence soit en baisse à Bogota et dans d’autres grandes villes de Colombie, il existe toujours un risque d’actes terroristes à l’extérieur des limites de la ville de la part de diverses factions qui se rebellent contre le gouvernement, la réduction du commerce de la drogue et l’aide américaine à l’éradication des champs de coca. Le Fielding’s Guide to Dangerous Places dit :

“La Colombie est actuellement l’endroit le plus dangereux de l’hémisphère occidental et peut-être du monde, car elle n’est pas considérée comme une zone de guerre ….. Si vous voyagez en Colombie, vous pourriez être la cible de voleurs, de kidnappeurs et de meurtriers… Dans le département d’Antioquia, des civils et des militaires sont régulièrement arrêtés à des barrages routiers, traînés hors de leur voiture et exécutés sommairement. Les touristes sont drogués dans les bars et les discothèques, puis volés et assassinés. Les expatriés, les missionnaires et autres étrangers sont les cibles favorites des groupes terroristes qui les enlèvent pour obtenir des rançons scandaleuses qui se chiffrent en millions de dollars.”
Si vous vous rendez à Santafé de Bogotá ou n’importe où en Colombie, soyez très prudent. En plus des précautions que vous prendriez dans n’importe quelle grande ville, veuillez prendre les mesures suivantes :

Faites savoir à votre consulat que vous êtes là et quels sont vos projets de voyage.
Gardez votre passeport sur vous à tout moment. On peut vous le demander à tout moment. Si vous avez des doutes sur la personne qui demande à voir vos documents, appelez n’importe quel agent de police en uniforme pour obtenir de l’aide.
Ne portez sur vous que l’argent dont vous aurez besoin et gardez-le près de votre peau.
Ne portez pas de bijoux ou de montres de valeur.
Ne marchez pas seul la nuit ou dans les quartiers pauvres. Évitez les zones douteuses. Les femmes ne doivent pas monter seules dans les taxis.
N’acceptez pas de bonbons, de cigarettes, de boissons ou de nourriture de la part d’inconnus. Ils peuvent être drogués avec du burundanga qui vous prive de votre volonté et de votre mémoire et vous fait perdre connaissance. Une overdose peut être fatale.
Soyez au courant des nouvelles et des événements locaux. Restez à l’écart des points chauds.
Ne marchez pas jusqu’au Cerro Montserrate.
Soyez conscient, prudent et en sécurité pour profiter de votre voyage !

Retrouvez toutes les informations touristiques sur la ville et les quartiers de Bogota : https://www.guidebogota.com/